WOW! Minneapolis is Awesome!

Howdy,

Perhaps my Minneapolis post from my apartment hunt didn’t really reflect on how excited I am about my new home. I have had a hard time convincing my dear Texans that I will not be covered in snow, and indeed, Minneapolis is a cool (no pun intended) town. 

In light of these realizations, I decided to make a Minneapolis Top 10 Itinerary. All you Minnesotans, take this with a grain of salt, I have only been there twice. All you Texans, this is a quick rundown of my suggestions if you come visit me! 

 

MINNEAPOLIS, MN
TOP 10

10. Take a stroll down Nicolett Mall, make sure to visit Target HQ to experience the shopping cart escalator inside!

Image

Strolling down Nicollet Mall, Target HQ!

9. Treat yourself to an overnight stay at The Hotel Minneapolis (We found a groupon!). I am a sucker for their typography but their pillows proved to be amazing as well. It is also very conveniently located in along the SkyWay, an awesome adventure on it’s own. Skip the Hotel Restaurant to find Broadway Pizza and grab a slice!

Image

Hotel Minneapolis, Typography Love at first Sight

 

8. Take the Minneapolis Light Rail directly from the Airport to the Mall of America (you can rent jumbo lockers for $13) Make lego versions of yourself at the Lego Store in the Mall of America. While you’re at it, live a little, and ride the SpongeBob Roller Coaster at Nickelodeon Universe! And, since you’re there, go ahead, and visit the Sharks and Jelly Fish at the SEA LIFE Minnesota Aquarium (HINT:buy tickets online for a reduced price!)

Make yourself at the Lego Store, MOA

 

8. Take a Flâneur and duck into one of the many cute-as-a-button coffee shops to warm up! I liked Moose and Sadie’s in the Warehouse District or Boiler Room Coffee near the Minneapolis Institute of Art

MooseandSadie

7. Rent a NiceRide,MN bike and ride along the Mississippi River. Make sure to cross over on the Stone Arch Bridge!

Stone Arch Bridge from the Guthrie

Stone Arch Bridge from the Guthrie

6. While near the Stone Arch Bridge, get an awesome view, from the Endless Bridge at the Guthrie Theatre. 

Image

Reflection of myself in the doors of the Endless Bridge, Guthrie Theatre

5. Picnic at Loring Park then visit the Walker  and the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden. If you’re Catholic, go ahead and attend Mass (if you’re not, take a peak anyways) at St. Mary’s Basilica across the park. It is absolutely beautiful. 

Image

 

4. Bike, walk or take a bus a mile south to Uptown, grab a snack at The Wedge, and head to Lake Calhoun to enjoy the many historic houses and some of nature’s own art.

3. Continue on the theme of nature and catch a ride on the Minneapolis Light Rail to Minnehaha Falls!  Even frozen over, it was an awesome sight!

Image

Minnehaha Falls Frozen

2. Go Ice Skating on the Lakes! I have yet to try this myself, but I hear that there are free loaner skates in warming houses near the awesome lakes in Minneapolis. Can’t wait to try this out on my first Winter. (Read: many a wow moment as I try to figure skate)

1. After a pancake and fancy chai at the Boiler Room, visit the Minneapolis Art Institute, a free must see. I have traveled across the US and Europe and visited many a museum, and love this one. Find a sculpture “Diego” by my favorite Swiss, Giacometti. 

Image

 

So there you have it. If you aren’t convinced yet, come visit me, snow or sunshine, this city is thriving. 

GMI

Leave a Reply

